The video above is a quick preview to the actual video that is about 45 minutes long.

“Killing us Softly” is a video I had previously seen before. Watching it for a second time, I picked up on certain things I had forgotten, and things I didn’t catch the first time. it is a powerful message, and a message I agree 100% with. This video condenses society’s view on women in the media. I think it is fair is we include women when I say society. This has been an ongoing situation for years now. You can see in the video that certain ads date back to the 50’s.

As an advertising major, I have to be aware of how the public views certain things, how certain people want you to view things, and what reality truly is. We are bombarded with thousands of advertisements in a week, and millions in a year. We have learned to recognize certain companies by a color, shape, or tune. Advertisers think about who and what they are going to affect with their campaign, but they don’t stop to realize how profound the effects that advertisements have.
It has been easy to categorize gender and race. A certain color mean this, and a particular gender means that. Like always, women have suffered the backlash through out many, many years now. We have slowly evolved into sexual objects that are devalued through the media. You have to look, dress, and act a certain way to be socially accepted into what society has said is the norm. What is worrisome is that young girls at vulnerable ages are surrounded by these ads and they are being lead to believe this is true. Many young girls are growing up with eating disorders, and low self-esteem. I was once a victim of such societal pressure. I thought I wasn’t cool enough because I wasn’t thin enough, I wasn’t wearing the clothes the girls on the magazine were, and I didn’t fit the mold of “cool”. I held myself back from enjoying many things, and from being myself around other people. Later, you grow up to realize that those views you have at an age where you are being pulled from all directions and are trying to fit in, aren’t either as crucial or simply not true. Once you realize them, it is too late to take those years back. On the other hand, you have girls that never realize the reality of things, and are still under society’s pressure to fit in.

Women that diminish their value and appear in these print ads and commercials don’t realize how much they affect the view that is placed on women in our society and societies across the world. They are ok with being sexualized and appearing as objects .

I find more and more everyday that women make it “ok” for society to uphold us in this standard. As if it wasn’t bad enough to be sexualized by men, it is even worse for women themselves to diminish their standards and go ahead and jump on the bandwagon.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

